T-Mobile’s slick sales person

Posted: September 6, 2011 in Cell Phone, General, ubuntu, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Wow! What an interesting day.  T-Mobile, they have some over eager sales people there for sure.  I’m upset, very upset, let me tell you why:

I’ve been a long standing customer of T-Mobile, I own a smart phone and have had unlimited data, unlimited phone and a limit of 400 SMS messages.  No problem, I don’t use much SMS so 400 was more then enough.  Then I buy my wife a smart phone with the same plan.  Now the 400 messages are a tad tight but still overall not too bad a fit.  So am I happy to be spending around $200 USD a month for phones, not really but you get what you pay for…..

So a few weeks ago I get a call from T-Mobile, a sales person, they have a brand new plan unlimited data, unlimited phone, unlimited SMS all for about $50-$60 USD  cheaper then what I pay now.  The catch was I have to sign up for a two year plan on each phone with a $200 USD per phone cancellation fee if I quit the plan early.  Hmm, OK I’ve been with T-Mobile for years, I’ve been as happy as one can be with a mobile cell phone service provider, so why not sign up for the 2 years of unlimited data, phone and SMS.  So I did.  All good you say, well yes for about 2.5 weeks!!

All of a sudden I get an SMS message on my phone:

889: Free T-Mobile Msg: You’ve used more then 200MB of data.  Your web access speed will be reduced until 09/10/2011.  Go to http://u.web2go.com/upsell/options.do?src=dus for more high speed access.

So I think this is a mistake and ignore it as I’m getting ready for a trip and am quite busy.  Then a few days later my wife SMS’s me (and is quite annoyed) and says:

hey whats up?  I got this message 889: Free….

Yep, you guessed it, she got the very same message, clearly something is wrong with my unlimited everything deal.  So I wait until the US holiday is over and call T-Mobile from my cell phone.  I explain that I’ve been a T-Mobile customer for years and I’m very unhappy because I was sold this unlimited everything account and it’s not unlimited at all.  The very nice woman checks my account and says yes, you do have a 200MB data cap on this plan.  So I said to her that I felt that I’ve been lied to and want my old account back.  She tells me that my grandfathered account can’t be brought back but she can give me the 5,000 MB account for no extra money.  I explained to her that that was not acceptable, I was happy with my old account and that I felt that I was lied to in order to  get me off the unlimited data account and I would accept nothing less then my old account back,  please get me with a manager or whom ever can fix this mistake on T-Mobiles part.  She politely says that she will have to send me over to the customer retention folks as they are the only ones that can fix this. OK I say please do so, and she does……

I am now connected to another nice woman (MS. G….e T-Mobile employee number 4…3) to whom I explain everything again.  And she says she can update my account to more data but she can not reinstate my old account.  I explain that that is not satisfactory, I felt I was lied to by the original sales person and I would not settle for anything less then getting my grandfathered account back. I said to please transfer me to her supervisor if she could not put everything back.  But amazingly enough, there is no supervisor available but one can call me back within 24 hours.  So I said fine, have the supervisor call me and I would expect said call by 3:40:PM PDT as I’m actually traveling in California  right now.  I also tell her I would be blogging about this and would further blog if the call is late.

So, how many of you folks have been treated poorly by a mobile phone company?  I’m feeling pretty abused by T-Mobile at this point, it would be easy for them to put my account back to the prior really unlimited data plan, they just don’t want to.  I’ll update this tomorrow after I get my call back, hopefully T-Mobile, hopefully they will do the right thing, but who knows?

Comments
  1. That’s weird, cause when one rep said I needed to change my grandfathered rate plan (and did so, adding on another $5/mo, which is minimal but still, I like saving that $5/mo!) in order to add on the BlackBerry data plan when I got it, I called a second time for something else, mentioned that, and that rep was all, “You shouldn’t have to change your rate plan, let me fix it!” and she put me back on the grandfathered plan. (I’m also a long term T-Mo customer.)

    So I don’t see why they’re telling you they can’t roll you back to the grandfathered plan.

  2. Only yourself to blame on that. It is an unlimited data plan, just with x amount on 4g speeds.

  3. I have had TMobile for 3 years now and I have had a few problems. They tried to dick me around with my plans as well. They had me switch to some new non “Fav5” plan in favor of a couple thousand minutes. I had them reinstate my old account (which they CAN do!) to my old fav5 plan. I used that for a while and eventually did switch away from it with an account that has 3,000+ minutes and its a little cheaper.

    I have had one instance with their Online support where someone cursed me out for asking a question about my bill. Also, here more recently on August 11th I had a customer support representative curse me out repeatedly (he thought I was on hold). I listened to him for about 15 minutes while he laid his headset down and talked with others. The sad part is…I actually had an issue with my bill that TMobile could have fixed in a few clicks.

    I just called them back today and let the person know that I was taking to. All I got was a “That’s not right for them do that” talk. The rep took down all of my notes and said that shes flagging the account to have the call conversation pulled and the appropriate actions taken on the rep. I won’t ever know if they did anything about it and all I got was an “I’m sorry” for it. Pretty sad if you ask me!

    I could go on for days about the issues I’ve had with this company and this is just the start of it. Eventually I will talk my wife to either drop the phones all together or switch to another provider that might have a faster web connection than 2G (Edge).

  4. mackenzie says:

    Was it really unlimited before? I thought all tmobile plans were QOSd. Heck, that’s why I pick them over AT&T, who charges overage fees instead of just making it a bit slower.

    • dmtechtalk says:

      Well in 3 years of using it I never got a throttling message, So if it was limited it was a very high limitation.

      • Mackenzie says:

        My plan is 5GB before it throttles, and I never got one either. Maybe they only recently started *informing* when they throttle? Mine is advertised as “unlimited” with a little asterisk about it being slower after I use enough of it.

  5. Belinda Lopez "Dinda" says:

    Yip, AT&T did a similar thing when I switched to a new Motorola Atrix with ‘unlimited data’ plan $29.99 – except they failed to mention that in order to actually use my phone as a mobile hotspot I had to upgrade to yet a different plan for $45/month. Three months and several calls later when I kept getting an error when trying to find the magic app that allowed tethering, I finally went into a storefront where they explained that even ‘unlimited’ is not really unlimited and I had to move to the new data plan to do tethering.

  6. danteashton says:

    I’ve been treated very poorly by Vodafone;

    I bought a HTC Magic some time ago with the plan of 500mb, 500 texts and 500 minutes for two years, £25 a month.

    I noticed after the first month my £25 was actually £35, they had put on insurance despite my asking them not to. Bit annoying, but I let that slide.

    After the first 5 months, though, I noticed they were taking out at LEAST £150 each month. I was horrified.
    Each time I phoned up (and given the run-around by their reps) I was told I had passed over my allotted plan. They confirmed my plan, but I couldn’t stop it because the early termination fee would of drained me dry, but even with minimal usage they continued charging me stupid amounts.

    This continued for two years; and I had called every authority; perhaps the phone was malfunctioning? Perhaps something, somewhere had gone wrong?

    It turns out that they changed the contract 4 times whilst I was with them;

    I ended up with 50mb of data, 200 texts and 100 minutes. They never even told me.

    They had also changed my 24-month contract to 18 months, but didn’t tell me, you’d think that’s a good thing, but they started charging me a premium after the contract expired (which they lied to me about, it finished January this year, they said it was still active.).

    I’m never going with Vodafone, or a contract, again…

  7. John says:

    The 5GB data plan is actually unlimited. It’s 5GB at 3G speeds and then throtles back to 2G speeds for the rest of the month. If you manage to get them to restore you to the old plan (which their CRM software may or may not let them do) you’ll be ending up with a worse deal IMHO.

  8. Benjamin Kay says:

    Yes, I was annoyed by the “unlimited” until-you-reach-a-cap data plan as well. I was wary enough to clarify the cap before signing up, so I don’t feel quite as betrayed as you. 2 GB/month of 3G (you get dropped to 2G/EDGE after that) has been enough for me; 5 GB would be more than enough. But if you do video streaming on your phone, I could see why you would want a truly unlimited plan. Oh, and forget about trying to get a public IP address.

    Another business practice they’ve started recently is the “free” phone. They got my parents to sign up for 2 year voice contracts with the promise of a free smartphone. But it turns out that you don’t get a discount on anything Android unless you also sign up for a data plan.

    In the end, I don’t really see much of a choice. The only other GSM carrier is AT&T, and they aren’t any better. And pretty soon, the _only_ GSM carrier will be AT&T.

    • Mackenzie says:

      Yeah…T-Mobile it’s $40/mo for unlimited with first 5GB as fast, and AT&T it’s $35 for 2GB-then-overage-charges or $60 for 5GB-then-overage-charges, so between the two, it’s an easy choice.

  9. ignorante says:

    Aside from telling half truths to customers, the real problem here is air vs wires. Even the book “Being Digital” by Nicholas Negroponte explains why bits cannot travel by air the same as by a wire:
    “What is in the air will go into the ground and what is in the ground will go into the air. The bandwidth in the ground is infinite and in the ether it is not.”

    When phones were limited, unlimited plans were possible because even trying you could not get more than 5 GB/month by web browsing or checking emails.

    Now there’s media streaming so you can even watch full HD videos on the phone, there’s no way the can be enough antennas to handle that. Is either limiting data transfers or not getting 3g signal at all.

    If it were possible, they would offer it, maybe charge a lot more or only for corporate plans, but they don’t. It only existed before because the technology had an implicit cap.

  10. Dave says:

    I left Tmobile because they have done similar things to me in the past. What a bunch of slimeballs! Stick to Verizon or one of the prepaid carriers. I have been using Cricket for years now and love them.

  11. Alessandro says:

    I thought this only happened in a third world country (like Brazil 🙂

Leave a Reply

