Cron Last Sunday or run-if-today

Posted: June 16, 2014 in Debian, General, Hacking, Hardware, Raspberry PI
Tags: , , , ,

OK, it is the 3rd Monday of June and like clockwork, the water came on and all worked as expected with a simple cron entry.

But lots going on that will generate a longer blog entry soon, the rayshobby / open sprinkler folks have some really nice hardware in the opensprinklerPi hardware.  So I don’t need to design my own board, I can use their open hardware project.  That said I don’t care for any of the software that currently runs on it, it looks like a clone of the existing weekly software that comes on any < $300 USD controller.  Yes you can program it via a web browser and/or a mobile device but it still lacks monthly levels of control.  Also the layout of the hardware restrict adding displays easily.  I added a header and will use a 26 pin ribbon cable to remote the PI and display from the opensprinklerPi hardware.  More about that later.

 

Have a nice day, I am since I no longer have to worry about my lawn getting watered on the correct day…..

Leave a Reply

